RIM: Research and Research Education

Research Cabinet Members

The Research Cabinet is an advisory group of faculty and administrators who meet with the Executive Dean for Research and Research Education (RIM) monthly. Agenda items include presentations of new initiatives, discussions of research issues, and review of proposed changes in the research arena.

Research Cabinet Membership

Eduardo Alfonso, MD
Professor and Chair of Ophthalmology; Director, Bascom Palmer Eye Institute

Daniel Armstrong, PhD
Professor and Associate Chair, Pediatrics; Director, Mailman Center for Child Development

Michael Benatar, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Neuromuscular Medicine

Ernesto Bernal-Mizrachi, MD
Associate Professor and Chief of Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism

John L. Bixby, PhD
Professor of Molecular and Cellular Pharmacology and Neurological Surgery; Vice Provost for Research

Richard Bookman, PhD
Associate Professor, Molecular and Cellular Pharmacology

Olveen Carrasquillo, M.D.
Professor, Medicine; Chief, Division of General Internal Medicine

Barbara A. Cole
Associate Vice President, Office of Research Administration (ORA)

Sylvia Daunert, PhD
Professor and Chair, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

W. Dalton Dietrich, PhD
Professor, Neurological Surgery; Scientific Director of The Miami Project to Cure Paralysis

Alessia Fornoni, MD, PhD
Professor, Medicine; Director and Chair, Peggy and Harold Katz Family Drug Discovery Center

Joshua Hare, MD
Professor, Medicine; Director, Interdisciplinary Stem Cell Institute (ISCI)

Dushyantha Jayaweera, MD
Professor, Infectious Diseases
Executive Dean for Research and Research Education

Norma Kenyon, PhD
Professor, Surgery; Chief Innovation Officer

Erin Kobetz, PhD
Professor, Medicine; Senior Associate Dean for Health Disparities

Xue Zhong Liu, MD, PhD
Professor, Otolaryngology

Charles Nemeroff, MD, PhD
Professor and Chair, Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences

Jean-Marie Parel, PhD
Research Associate Professor, Ophthalmology

Margaret Pericak-Vance, PhD
Professor, Human Genetics; Director, John P. Hussman Institute for Human Genomics (HIHG)

Camillo Ricordi, MD
Professor and Center Director of the Diabetes Research Institute

Ralph L. Sacco, MD
Professor and Chair, Department of Neurology

Matthias Salathe, MD
Professor and Vice Chair, Medicine; Chief, Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine

Pedro Salas, MD, PhD
Professor, Cell Biology

Ashok Saluja, PhD
Professor and Vice Chair, Surgery; Senior Associate Dean for Research Innovation

Carl Schulman, MD, PhD
Professor, Surgery – Trauma and Burn

José Szapocznik, PhD
Professor, Public Health Sciences

Omaida Velazquez, MD
Professor and Chair, Department of Surgery

Claes Wahlestedt, MD, PhD
Professor, Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences; Director, Center for Therapeutic Innovation

Roy Weiss, MD, PhD
Professor and Chair, Medicine

Jonelle Wright, PhD
Research Associate Professor CTSI

Stephan Zuchner, MD, PhD
Professor and Chair, Department of Human Genetics

E-mail a Friend